China Unveils Members of Its National Blockchain Committee

China’s central government has finally unveiled the members of its national blockchain committee.

According to The Block, the “Na­tional Blockchain and Dis­trib­uted Ledger Tech­nol­ogy Stan­dard­i­s­a­tion Tech­ni­cal Com­mit­tee” is comprised of 71 members including executives from Baidu and Tencent.

The group, which was formed after the approval of the National Standardization Management Committee, is headed by Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) deputy minister Chen Zhaoxiong. It has five vice presidents, all from the government, as well as four deputy secretaries staffed from universities and ministries.

“Other members of the committee include executives from notable companies and universities, such as Baidu, Ten­cent, Huawei, Peking Uni­ver­sity, Tsinghua Uni­ver­sity, Fu­dan Uni­ver­sity, and more.”

Photo: Max Braun